it’s beginning to look a lot like autumn

What are you doing this fall

Fall is my favorite time of year for many reasons – fall fashions, change in the weather (although this year we are not tired of the heat!), and my birthday which comes around every October! But mostly because all of the theaters roll out their fall plans – and the fourth quarter of the year is the most popular time of year for theatre-going.

For Broadway In Chicago this is a very exciting fall – we have JERSEY BOYS, THE ADDAMS FAMILY, YOUNG FRANKENSTEIN, CATS and THE TEN TENORS, all before Thanksgiving!

We are preparing for all the fall previews that are running this weekend, both submitting our ads to the papers and getting the writers what they need for their stories. We hope some of these stories will include our shows but mostly want them to be big and lavish – really great fall preview sections that show the depth of what everyone has to offer for Theater In Chicago – because there is no better theater town than Chicago.

This Thursday, we have two events for BILLY ELLIOT. The staff here is spending some time today and tomorrow following up with our guests and reminding them about this exciting event. It’s going to be pretty great – not only are the producers coming in from London but we are introducing the young boys who will star in the Chicago production.

BONUS ALERT: As a special treat, we are going to give four lucky readers an invitation to come to this private event! Leave a comment on this post with either the number of times you have seen Billy and why you love it so much, or if you haven’t seen it, why you want to see it when it comes to Chicago. We will select four random winners to come with a guest to the 3:30 pm event on Thursday, September 10 (make sure you can come at that time!). We will pick the winners at 5 pm on Wednesday, September 9. We will email the winners all the specifics on the event. You do not want to miss this!

-Eileen

6 Comments

Filed under Billy Elliot the Musical, Broadway In Chicago, Cats, Jersey Boys, The Addams Family, The Ten Tenors, Young Frankenstein

6 responses to “it’s beginning to look a lot like autumn

  1. Mike Nocek

    At the end of the last school year during our production of Guys & Dolls, our director had gone to New York over the break and when we got back that was the only thing anyone heard talk about. So everyone is dying to see it once it gets here.

  2. Jacob Palka

    Although I have not seen Billy Elliot yet I believe it is one of the greatest musicals of our generation. It conveys such a simple message. To me it says that you can do anything you set your mind to even if the world is working against you. It’s simple but yet so important to our daily lives. And it’s accompanied by Elton John. what could be better. Billy Elliot is blunt to be hit here in Chicago.

  3. Billy Elliot fan

    This is so exciting! I’ve seen Billy Elliot the Musical more times over the past few years than I am comfortable telling most people. The first time I saw it in London, it touched me in ways that are still difficult to articulate. I can’t wait to see video of this event! There will be video, right?? I wish I could afford to jaunt down to Chicago for this…

  4. David Shum

    Ever since I saw the movie Billy Elliot in 2000, I have been in love with the story and journey that Billy goes through. After I watched the movie, I felt a very strong connection to the character and to the message of expressing yourself by any means, especially dance. As a fan of the movie and an avid theatregoer, I was ecstatic when I heard Billy Elliot was going to be turned into a musical. I bought the original cast recording when it came out, and was inspired by songs like “Expressing Yourself” and “Electricity.” My friend in New York has seen the show 17 times now, and every time she sees it, she raves about it. All of this good word of mouth and my strong connection to the material has me very excited to finally be able to see the show in Chicago. Finding out who will play the Billys and March 2010 cannot come soon enough!

  5. Andrew Lehmkuhl

    I have seen the movie of billy and thought it was amazing. When i heard it was going to be a musical, with music by Sir Elton. i was reallupumped up about it!. I own the London cast recording and think that there is some very good music in the show(i like electricty the best!)So i could be more excited for the show coming to chicago!

  6. Dewain Alvarez

    Yea I saw the movie too! Truly amazing. I think this just might be one of my favorites. I can’t wait til it finally gets here. I’m going to see every night it’s here lol. Pumped much? indeed.

Leave a Reply

