Tony Awards: Best Lighting Design

Broadway In Chicago is gearing up for the excitement of the 2014 Tony Awards on June 8th! We’ll be highlighting the nominees here on the blog and revealing fun facts. Keep checking back daily and make your predictions of the winners in the comments!



Best Lighting Design (Play) (Clockwise, L to R)

Japhy Wiedeman – Of Mice and Men

Natasha Katz – The Glass Menagerie

Jane Cox – Machinal

Paule Constable – The Cripple of Inishmaan

DID YOU KNOW?: Japhy Wiedeman designed the lighting for La Scala’s production of “Bluebeard’s Castle” in Milan, Italy


Best Lighting Design (Musical) (Clockwise L to R)

Kevin Adams – Hedwig and the Angry Inch

Christopher Akerlind – Rocky

Donald Holder – The Bridges of Madison County

Howell Binkley – After Midnight

DID YOU KNOW?: Donald Holder is a previous Tony Award-winner for designing the lighting for “The Lion King”.

Christopher Akerlind is the lighting designer for Broadway In Chicago’s upcoming pre-Broadway world premiere “The Last Ship”!

Leave a comment

Filed under Broadway In Chicago, New York, The Last Ship, Tony Awards

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s